Horse is afraid of things falling or swinging around him

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Horse is afraid of things falling or swinging around him

Post by Sunny Admin on Sat Feb 20, 2010 3:59 pm

Hi Cheryl- As you know, I have followed the progress of your horses for several years. I revisited your website a couple weeks ago in the hopes of learning how to "re-wire" my 2 1/2 year old colt to help him with his fear of things falling and things swinging around him.

I am a student of Natural Horsemanship, but find that when faced with these "monsters" that my otherwise brave and reasonable colt is hypersensitive to the pressure in the desensitization process.

I have successfully taught him that he doesn't need to flee the scene when faced with the scary object, but I have noticed that his fear of the objects during the desensitization is not much diminished, just an increased tolerance of them. In other situations at liberty, nothing we desensitized with carries over.

It has become clear to me that the most effective course of action would be to "re-wire" him so that he associates the falling or swinging objects with something pleasant. It doesn't make sense to me anymore to set a goal to try to get him accustomed to something scary when there is an option to simply teach him to think of that same object as something pleasant.

For my colt, who tends to get anxious with pressure, it makes more sense to me to set the tone of his learning program with an eagerness to explore potential scary things, having learned that to face them creates something fun and pleasurable for him rather than a learning atmosphere where I continually expose him to something unpleasant in the hopes that he eventually gets used to it.

There is certainly a time and place for that method. Being that horses are as individual as you and I are, their training needs to be tailored to their personalities.